

Office of Substance Abuse and Mental Health Division of Aging, Adult, and Behavioral Health Services 700 Main St., Slot S175, Little Rock, AR 72203-8059

# ARKANSAS PEER ADVISORY COMMITTEE REGIONAL MEMBERSHIP APPLICATION

The members of APAC and the State of Arkansas would like to thank you for your interest in becoming a member of the committee. The combined efforts of peer workers throughout the State will provide a stable and thriving profession for years to come. Please complete this application along with all requested documentation and submit it to Cheyenne.delaney@dhs.arkansas.gov.

APAC Mission Statement:

The Arkansas Peer Advisory Committee (APAC) unites the skills, passions, and experiences of Peer Workers through outreach and advocating for peer services to provide career and personal development to ensure the sustainability of the Peer Recovery profession.

### APAC Vision Statement:

To be the subject matter experts for peer services while upholding the ethical responsibilities of peer support in the State of Arkansas.

Name:		Date:
Address:		
City:2		
Phone Number:		Region:
Email Address:		
Peer Certification Level:		
Are you Currently Providing Peer Service PLEASE EXPLAIN:	s? YES or 1	NO

#### MEMBERSHIP POLICY

- 1. APAC is divided into five (5) regions, ensuring equal representation throughout each region of the state.
- 2. Up to three (3) representatives from each region shall serve as APAC members.
- 3. Each member must have an Advanced Peer Recovery Specialist (APRS) Certification under the Arkansas Model of Peer Recovery through the DHS approved accrediting entity.
- 4. Each member must work in the role of a Core Peer Recovery Specialist (CPRS) or higher.
- 5. APAC can waive the certification requirement for membership and accept a registered Core Peer Recovery Specialist if it is deemed by the committee that the Region lacks Certified Peer representation.
- 6. The positions of Chair, Co-Chair, and Secretary shall be appointed by the DHS Office of Recovery.

### LENGTH OF TERM:

- 1. Each region shall internally select a member to relinquish their seat annually, except when an individual has been a member for less than one (1) year due to a previous resignation.
- 2. This rotation of members occurs at the July APAC meeting each year.
- 3. A call for applicants begins two months prior to the end of the term for each region.
- 4. If a committee member steps down before the term ends, applications for their seat are opened immediately and are voted on at the following APAC meeting.

# ATTENDANCE POLICY:

- Members are strongly encouraged to be at all scheduled meetings. If for some reason they are not able to attend a scheduled meeting, members must notify the Secretary no later than forty-eight (48) hours before the meeting (if possible).
- 2. Absences are tracked by the Secretary. No member will be allowed to miss more than two (2) unexcused meetings within a calendar year beginning in January of each year. Excused absences are limited to:
  - a. Facilitating or attending peer trainings
  - b. Family, medical, or transportation emergencies
  - c. Previously scheduled vacations
  - d. Previously scheduled court appointments
- 3. Unexcused absences greater than two (2) will result in removal from the APAC regional seat.

# **MEETINGS**:

- 1. The APAC meets every two months for a total of six (6) meetings per calendar year. APAC meetings are scheduled for two (2) hours and may run shorter or longer depending on the agenda. Meetings are held on the second (2nd) Thursday of the month at 10:00 a.m.
  - a. Three (3) meetings are in person. Those meetings are in January, May, and September each year.
  - b. Three (3) meetings meet virtually. Those meetings are in March, July, and November each year.
- 2. The Chair may call a special meeting at any time with at least forty-eight (48) hours' notice.
- 3. Quorum will be set at sixty (60) percent of voting members. No voting can take place if there are not at least sixty (60) percent of voting members in attendance for the meeting.

#### **REGIONS:**

- 1. Region One consists of the following counties: Benton, Boone, Carroll, Crawford, Franklin, Johnson, Logan, Madison, Marion, Newton, Pope, Searcy, Sebastian, Scott, Van Buren, and Washington Counties
- 2. Region Two consists of the following counties: Baxter, Clay, Cleburne, Craighead, Crittenden, Cross, Fulton, Greene, Independence, Izard, Jackson, Lawrence, Mississippi, Poinsett, Randolf, Sharp, Stone, White, and Woodruff Counties
- Region Three consists of the following counties: Conway, Faulkner, Grant, Hot Spring, 3. Jefferson, Lonoke, Perry, Pulaski, Saline, and Yell Counties
- Region Four consists of the following counties: Calhoun, Clark, Columbia, Dallas, Garland, 4. Hempstead, Howard, Lafayette, Little River, Miller, Montgomery, Nevada, Ouachita, Pike, Polk, Sevier, and Union Counties
- Region Five consists of the following counties: Arkansas, Ashley, Bradley, Chicot, 5. Cleveland, Desha, Drew, Lee, Lincoln, Monroe, Phillips, Prairie, and St. Francis Counties

(initial) I HAVE READ AND UNDERSTAND THE ATTENDANCE REQUIREMENTS FOR MEMBERSHIP TO APAC AND AGREE TO THE TERMS OF ATTENDANCE.

Please check the Subcommittees that you would like to be involved with as a member of APAC.

CONTINUED EDUCATION

Approving the peer-related education of the Community Employers about Peer Support Services.

**CONFERENCE PLANNING** 

Participating in group-style discussions regarding bringing education to Arkansas Peer Workers.

Signature: Date: